Skip to content

Anticipating A Dream Come True

June 17, 2009

I have done something that I’ve wanted to do since I was 16 years old…..I bought a ticket to go see Stryper in concert!  Yeah, yeah I know – insert bumble bee stupid jokes here.  You can read my story about how I became a Stryper fan here.

Stryper will be supporting their new album, entitled Murder By Pride, which will be released July 21st, 2009.  The six songs I’ve heard so far are top quality and are a great addition to the Stryper legacy.

The concert will be on November 14th, 2009 in Los Angeles.  So I have to wait a little over 5 months until I can drive 4 hours to see the concert of a lifetime!  5 looooong months of waiting……….my anticipation made me remember a story in the Calvin & Hobbes comic strip where Calvin sends off for a beanie and he dies a thousand deaths waiting for it.  Because I love Stryper and because I love Calvin & Hobbes and because this is my blog, I’m gonna share that comic strip in the coming days.  (check out this website where a fan lovingly scanned in the entire Calvin & Hobbes library)

to be continued….

5 Comments
  1. June 17, 2009 6:55 pm

    I got saved in January of 1991, the decline of Stryper I guess. I loved “Against The Law”. Then I got legalistic, thought they were sliding, and tossed that one. Then it went down hill for the boys. Needless to say, I never saw them play. I have a few videos. The last one in Puerto Rico is great. I remember when they played here in Atlanta a few years ago, and I thought about it. Now I am dying waiting for this. I am looking forward to seeing them do both sets.

  2. June 17, 2009 7:19 pm

    Funny you say that about Against the Law…I think it is probably one of their best musical offerings! I was a legalistic Pharisee myself at one time! I’m sure glad that’s over (and so is my wife!)

    I can’t wait to see ‘em in November! I’m selfishly secretly hoping no one else shows up so I can meet ‘em!

  3. June 18, 2009 12:01 pm

    Yep. Oz Fox’s playing on that is un-buh-leav-a-bull! Great sound to it as well. I guess, from what I have read, it was the only album that Tim Gaines played on. That album could have ruled the secular charts at the time. Maybe more so if it was released a year earlier. I think Enigma folded right after that, so they may not have given it much support.

Trackbacks

  1. Continuing the Quest for the Chocolate Frosted Sugar Bomb Beanie « Life, and a little more
  2. Continuing the Quest for the Chocolate Frosted Sugar Bomb Beanie part 3 « Life, and a little more

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

