Skip to content

The Music Experiment, Part 2

March 5, 2008

iTunes

Now it is time to see how Mr. Sammy Hagar stacks up compared to Diamond Dave. I used the same criteria for judging Sammy’s songs. In case you didn’t read my previous post, here is what I did: I listened to each song and rated them on a scale of 1 star for sucky to 5 stars for totally awesome classic. Certain songs just rock more than others, that’s a given. I was looking for songs that you could throw on a playlist while you and a buddy went on a long road trip and you could just rock out and have fun to.

I was shocked to see that Sammy had a 71.4% awesome song rating! 30 out of 42 songs made a 4 star or higher rating! He totally kicked DLR’s butt! I think I am more shocked than anybody! Let’s break it down!

5150, Sammy's first album with VH

5150 was released in 1986 and literally rocked my world. I have to say that I am heavily biased for this album as it is the first hard rock album I really, really fell in love with. I was in 8th grade and just finding myself musically. So, Sammy Hagar was actually my first singer with Van Halen. Eight out of nine songs made the 4 star or more rating. All time favorites from this album include Dreams, Summer Nights, Love Walks In and Best of Both Worlds.

ou812, Sammy's 2nd album OU812 was released in 1988 and never really grabbed me. In doing some research for this post, I became aware that the title (oh, you ate one too!) of this album is a slight poke at David Lee Roth’s solo album Eat ‘Em and Smile, which was released around the same time. Four songs garnered a 4 or 5 star rating. Black and Blue and When It’s Love are my favorites. I still don’t know why I don’t like this album very much. Eh, who cares really?
For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge 1991 saw the release of Van Halen’s ninth studio album, entitled For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge. When it was released, I don’t even think I bought it. I was a sophomore in college and was listening to too much Christian rock! However, I was surprised at how many songs received a high rating! Nine songs totally rocked! Right Now, Top of the World, Poundcake, and Judgement Day are favorites.

Balance, VH 10th album Balance was released in 1995 and was the last album that Sammy Hagar sung on. Again, nine songs get a 4 or 5 star rating! This is just some good rock ‘n roll! Favorites include Amsterdam, Can’t Stop Loving You, The Seventh Seal, and Feelin’.

The results are clear….Sammy Hagar has a better ratio of classic rock songs! He scored a 71%, with 30 out of 42 songs getting a 4 star or higher rating. Diamond Dave scored a 60%, with 36 out of 60 songs receiving a 4 or 5 star rating.

Both frontmen are incredible and the music is still what’s most important. I had a lot of fun doing this experiment and will probably be conducting some more along these same lines.

Comments are closed.

