Skip to content

Music of 2008 (so far so great!)

March 22, 2008

Just thought I’d list some of the new music that has been released this year!

Music

Avanstasia’s The Scarecrow – top notch power metal.  Definitely a 5 outta 5 stars!

Wikipedia says of this album:  The album is one of a kind Experimental piece of music which features no guitars at all. Instead, it features lead solo bass guitars, rhythm bass guitars and actual bass guitars who play the bass’ parts, along with accompanying vocals and drums. Most notably, the album features the Bassinvaders rendition to Helloween’s popular song “Eagle Fly Free”.

Also, the album features a wide range of guest bassits who play the bass solos and add to the variety of the album. Those include Billy Sheehan (Mr. Big, Steve Vai), Rudy Sarzo (Dio, Quiet Riot), Jan S. Eckert (Masterplan), Tobias Exxel (Edguy), Marco Mendoza (Blue Murder, Whitesnake), Nibbs Carter (Saxon) and more

Pretty good album, but a little monotonous.  This power metal starts to sound the same after  a while.

Bay Area thrashers from the 80’s put out a superb album.  These thrasher vets sure show the youngin’s how it’s done!!

Power/Prog metallers Firewind deliver a very awesome new album.  Their cover of “Maniac” is super cool!

House of Lords has been around for long time, but these guys just get better with age.  Come To My Kingdom is  a very solid hard rock album that just doesn’t let up!

Former Savatage frontman Jon Oliva finishes his trilogy of albums in excellent fashion.  This is metal at its best.  Oliva’s voice is one of a kind!

80’s Japanese hair metal band Loudness sure has changed.  Gone is almost everything that was great!  Downtuned music that sounds like Korn! blech!

Black Tide is a young band that sure can play some metal!  Think of early Motley Crue meets early Iron Maiden and you have Black Tide.  Great stuff!

Paul Gilbert the guitar god is back and better than ever!  He totally shreds!

Pillar’s new album is just what the doctor ordered!  Driving guitar and poignant lyrics.  I can’t wait to see them in concert in 2 weeks!

I’ll admit I haven’t listened to this disc all the way, but what I have heard was impressive.  I absolutely love the cover art!

Another awesome slab ’o power metal! The guitar work on this album is exquisite!

Now this is metal done right.  Saint has been around a long time, so it is nice to see they haven’t lost their edge!

Former Billy Idol guitarist’s solo album.  This record shreds like you wouldn’t believe!  Steve Vai better watch out, as Steve Stevens is putting out an awesome instrumental album too!

Power metal perfection here.  I think this is a supergroup formed from some members of Helloween and Gamma Ray.  I could be wrong though.  I just know I love the music!

I have to admit that I am totally addicted to this album.  Hard rockin’, well produced with great vocals!  I’ve listened to this album more than most of the other ones combined!

I’m  a little confused with this one.  I’ve read so many good reviews that other hard rock fans loved this album.  I just didn’t like it.  Maybe it will be one that has to grow on me.

Classic thrash metal is making a comeback and Warbringer is bringing it on.  I’ve only listened to it once or twice, but this is great work out music!

Yes! White Lion of 80’s hair metal fame is back!  I’ve been “wait”ing for this album forever!  I loved White Lion back in the day and this album is a good return to form.  It has some good hard rockin’ tunes, but just doesn’t capture the magic they once had!

Whitesnake is back too!  David Coverdale and Co. have been around for over 30 years and they bring all their experience to this record!  Good to Be Bad has that awesome bluesy rock feel that Whitesnake is famous for.

Albums still to come:

Dokken is “back for the attack” once again.  The samples I’ve heard sound really good! Can’t wait!  I love the cover art, as it reminds me of Back for the Attack album, which was my favortie Dokken record.

I have to admit that I’m a little worried about this album, as the title “Songs From The Sparkle Lounge” just makes me cringe.  But Def Leppard is the band that produced High ’n Dry and Pyromania (one of my all time favorite albums), so it should be good.

Who doesn’t love the Satch?  with this album, Paul Gilbert’s new album, and Steve Steven’s new album, it’s like the holy trinity of metal instrumentalists!

Comments are closed.

