Skip to content

Ha Ha, Jokes On Me

May 1, 2008

I’m always looking for new music. So when I had the chance to listen to the new Metallica, I jumped on it like nobody’s business! I quickly put the new album on my iPod and fired it up with much anticipation.

The guitars start blaring with the crunchy metal madness of old Metallica….the double bass drum beating with gusto…..the vocals intense and passionate, but a little muffled….crap this is good stuff…..

 Wait a sec, what was that chorus?

Risen…renewed in Christ
I’m risen….risen with Christ

Now I thought I did a good job keeping up with music news. No where have I even remotely heard that Metallica had become a Christian band. The music has to be Metallica, that sounds exactly like Master of Puppets coming out of my speakers. Isn’t that James Hetfield singing?

What the heck is going on here? I reach way back into my memory and remember a Christian thrash band called Eternal Decision. They sounded EXACTLY like Metallica, note for note. I do a quick search on Eternal Decision coverwikipedia.org and find the song titles from Eternal Decision’s self titled albumand sure enough, those songs are the one’s playing on my iPod.

Some hoaxter put up a bit torrent labelled “New Metallica” filled with Eternal Decision’s music. Now that is funny! I’d love to see some of the metalhead’s faces when they hear “Metallica” singing about Jesus!

I fell for it, hook line and sinker!

Comments are closed.

