Skip to content

Mario Kart Wii is Wonderful!

May 24, 2008

We’ve had Mario Kart Wii for a couple of weeks now, but it just isn’t getting old!  We’ve owned all the Mario Kart manifestations, going all the way back to the Nintendo 64!  I have to say that the Wii version is the best and mostest funnest!!

The graphics are gorgeous, but it is the gameplay that is the funnest.  I won’t bore you with specifics and details, as you can find them here (the Mario Wiki).

The race tracks are fun, and some are fiendishly hard.  All of the tracks from previous versions of the game are available, from N64 to Game Cube to the Game Boy!  While you are racing, you can make jumps and have your character do a trick by shaking the Wiimote.  This gives you an extra speed boost when you hit the ground.  And it makes the gameplay just that much more fun!

The two modes of play make a return. You can race or battle, but now you have to do both with 12 characters.  You and a buddy just can’t race or battle each other.  I have to say that is my biggest disappointment with Mario Kart Wii.  The AI is ruthless too…you can be in first place and !!bingo bango!! you’ve dropped back into twelfth in .5 seconds flat!  I’ve been zapped with lightning, hit by a red shell, hit by a green shell, and slipped on a banana all at the same time!  Talk about wanting to curse like a pirate!!

You can do Ghost Time Trials, in one player mode, where you can just race against one computer opponent.  That is fun, but again, that darn AI is hard as heck to beat. 

As you race and win, characters and vehicles are unlocked.  According to the cheater websites, I sure have a long way to go before I unlock most everything!

When it comes to Battle Mode, I’m still undecided.  It used to be fun to battle up to 4 friends and blow each other up and laugh and giggle.  Mario Kart Wii forces you to play in a twelve character battle, with huge arenas to chase down the enemy.  The battlegrounds are fun, but just too big.  I can go an entire battle without really seeing anybody else.

[UPDATE 6-11-08:  MY 9 YEAR OLD SON FOUND OUT HOW TO TURN OFF THE AI!!  THERE IS A “RULES” ICON ON THE UPPER RIGHT SCREEN WHEN YOU PICK YOUR CHARACTERS.  FROM THERE YOU CAN TURN OFF THE COMPUTER! HAPPY RACING!]

Online play is a snap.  Just log into the the Nintendo WFC and bam! you are ready to play.  Adding friends is as easy as inputing a friend code.  My kids get a kick out of playing with people in Japan and Germany or Canada.  There is no chat feature or any other way to interact with other players, so it is safe for kids to just jump in and play.

I do have to say that Mario Kart Wii is super addicting…much more so than Super Smash Bros Brawl.  The game play doesn’t get stale, especially with the online play feature.  Now, if I could actually win some races against my stinky kids I’d be a happy man!

If you can save to get this game, it is totally worth it!  Leave a comment with your friend code and I’ll send you mine!  I need to beat somebody!

One Comment
  1. June 11, 2008 10:04 pm

    I am going to end up buying this one now.

    A couple of fun games I am playing on the Wii right now is Blazing Angels and Williams Pinball.

Comments are closed.

