Skip to content

Father’s Day Goodness

June 16, 2008

I had a great Father’s day today! My kids rock and they know it!

But I got an extra special surprise at church this morning! They had sponsored a contest for kids to write a small essay about their dads and my darling daughter Bekah wrote a nice story about me and she won!

Here is her essay:

My Dad

My dad, hmm let’s see. I guess the best place to start is the beginning. But first, let me tell you about me. I am his second (and favorite) daughter. My name is Rebekah, I am 11 years old. I will be a Cruickshank Tiger next year. Oh yeah, and I love to write stories.
Anyway, my dad has been there since the beginning. Putting a smile on my face, he was there, always there.
His dry sense of humor, (sorry dad, but you know it’s true) and his great personality, are only a few of the great qualities of my dad. He is very tall, and so whenever we play basketball as a family, we always want to be on his team. After all he is like 6 feet 3 inches, so it’s like a total advantage. He was also on the basketball team in high school. (you rock dad.)
Well he also helped me learn how to ride a bike. That was a fun experience. Telling him not to let go, even though he did. Falling off into the grass. Running off, mad at him for letting go, and you know the rest.
But my dad isn’t perfect. He can’t hear out of one ear. He can’t smell, which I’m not sure if it’s a good thing or a bad thing. He is lucky when it comes to stinky things. (cow fields, diapers, dog “stuff”, etc.) But he is terribly unlucky when it comes to good smelling things, (flowers, cornbread, cookies, etc.) but I still love him.
My dad does snore, but there is a reason, he has sleep apnea. I’m not quite sure what it is, but I do know that it means he has to use a machine at night-time. (I think it’s an oxygen machine)
Also, on every birthday, if there is school on that day or not, he sends us balloons and candy or a teddy-bear. I used to think it was kind of embarrassing to walk into my classroom with a big bouquet of balloons, but now I don’t. It’s from him and I think it’s special.In fact I like to wait on every birthday for the teacher to tell me to pick up something from the office. I know it’s the balloons. And every year I walk up to the office with a smile on my face, then I proudly take it back to my classroom.
But when it comes to all the things i talked about, they don’t matter and I don’t care at all. Just having him as my dad is the best reward. But I do love him so, so much. I will cherish every moment I get with him. He is extraordinary ( in a good way) and I like him that way. He is an awesome father, but not just a father, he is also a great friend- and a great person- to be around. I love him and hope to stay close to him all my life. (my mom is great to, but this is my dad’s story.) There is just one thing that I have to say to everybody, including my dad:
I love you so much dad. Thank you for all that you do for me to make my life worthwhile. I love you and thank you.

Written by,
Rebekah Latronica.

Isn’t that just so awesome! I mean, my entire house can burn down and my much loved Mac could go up in flames but as I long as I have love like that, it is all I need!

Thanks Bekah! I love you very much!

Comments are closed.

