Skip to content

2 Docs You Gotta See 2 Believe

June 28, 2008

A Fistful of Quarters

I’ll be the first to admit my geekdom.  I love Battlestar Galactica, still read comic books, play video games, and love heavy metal music.  Oh yeah, and I’m 35 years old and I have a few grey hairs.

As the years pass, I wonder if my maturity level is on par with my age.  Aren’t I supposed to be a suit wearing, 9-5 working, adult who has it all together at this age?  After seeing these two documentaries, I realize I’m doin’ just, fine thank you very much.

The first documentary is entitled The King of Kong: A Fitstful of Quarters.  This movie highlights the video game career of two very different individuals.  Billy Mitchell set the world record for Donkey Kong back in 1982.  That record stood tall until Steve Wiebe broke it.

One Amazon.com reviewer had this to say:

This is one of those movies you watch in delighted disbelief, marveling that such people exist–and that they gladly allowed themselves to be filmed. Director Seth Gordon does an important thing in presenting this world of eccentrics: he doesn’t mock them, or provide editorial nudging; he simply lets them be. The result is an ingratiating classic.

I could not agree more!  How could grown men be so obsessed with a video game?  The one thing this movie does is make you feel relieved you are not that weird.

Air Guitar Nation is another documentary in the same vein as The King of Kong.  This time video games are replaced with the obsession to become a psuedo-rockstar via air guitar.

Amazon.com says:

Is it a sport? A game? An artform? It may be hard to define, but it’s easy to see that air guitar is a lot of fun and immensely entertaining, and so is director Alexandra Lipsitz’s Air Guitar Nation, an utterly charming documentary about the young men (and a few women) who in 2003 competed both at home and abroad to determine whose “airness” would rule.

I’m still left speechless after watching Air Guitar Nation.  I almost thought it was a spoof movie like Spinal Tap!  Sadly, that is not the case.

C-Diddy and Bjorn Turoque (Born ToRock) battle for the American Air Guitar Championship that is held annually in Finland.

I love music; I love metal guitar and yes, I do air guitar when no one is looking.  I just never thought of it as an artform to be taken seriously!

If you have a couple of hours to waste, you might like these movies.  They definitely shine a light on an entirely different culture of people!


One Comment
  1. Matt D permalink
    June 29, 2008 3:40 am

    Funny…I play air DRUMS when nobody is looking. Ok, and when people are looking. I would love an air drum competition…I’ve been playing for sooooo long and nobody really recognizes my talent.

Comments are closed.

