Skip to content

Worms: A Space Oddity – Not A Necessity

July 2, 2008

Summer is a great time to waste time playing video games.  I’ve been playing ’em since I was knee high to a grass hopper and I’ll be playing ’em in the old folks home.

One such game I’ve played over the years is the Worms series of games from Team17 Software.  These were quirky turn-based games where you controlled a small group of worms who’s sole mission was to blow up other teams of worms using bizarre and crazy weopons.

Admittedly, it has been some years since I’ve played this game, but I remember playing it fondly.  So it was to my surprise to see Worms: A Space Oddity released for the Wii gaming system.  I rented it from Blockbuster, telling my kids that they’d love it and love me even more for getting it for them.

We get home and start it up and right away I knew this game was not gonna be so good.  The interface was very clunky and way overcrowded.  I have a 60″ big screen tv and it was very hard to see what we were supposed to do in order to get the game started.

Once we did start the game, it was very tough to see your worms, even on a big screen!  All of the quirky fun weapons of old have been narrowed down to 10 different weapons that are boring to use after just a few turns.

I played about 2 or 3 times and that was all I could take.  I’m so glad I rented this game and didn’t impulse buy it!  If I were an official reviewer, I’d give it about 3 outta 10 stars. 

But if you wanna check it out yourself, watch the trailer below.

Comments are closed.

