Skip to content

Why Can’t I Love These Albums?

August 7, 2008

I’ve been very eagerly anticipating War of Ages new album, entitled “Arise & Conquer”.  This is their first release of new songs since 2006’s Pride of the Wicked (which is my top 5 all time top favorite albums ever created).

For some reason, I just can’t love Arise & Conquer.  The music is good and heavy, the vocals are passionate.  The album is well produced….but it just isn’t Pride of the Wicked!  I know that isn’t fair to the band, but Pride of the Wicked is so good that every other album they release will be judged against it.

Pride of the Wicked, one of the best metal albums ever produced!

Try as I might, this album just makes me need more.  I know it is stupid!  I think I’m going to have to listen to the album over and over to finally fall in love with it!

Track listing

  1. “All Consuming Fire” – 4:13
  2. “When Faith Turns to Ashes” – 1:51
  3. “Through the Flames” – 4:17
  4. “Salvation” – 3:28
  5. “Sleep of Prisoners” – 3:59
  6. “Wages of Sin” – 4:23
  7. “Yet Another Fallen Eve” – 3:45
  8. “Generational Curse” – 2:47
  9. “The Awakening” – 3:59
  10. “The Deception of Strongholds” – 4:05

Another band that I absolutely love is Into Eternity.  They have also released a new album, entitled The Incurable Tragedy. This is Into Eternity’s 5th studio album, and by all rights should be a great album.   Into Eternity has had that special ability to blend technical prog metal with the heaviness of speed/death metal.  Their previous four albums have all been fantastic.  Perfect work out music!

Like Arise & Conquer, I’m having a super hard time getting into The Incurable Tragedy.  It sounds like they have taken all the songs from their previous albums and mashed ’em all together.  It is chaotic and sounds uninspired.

Track listing

  1. “Prelude to Woe” − 0:55
  2. “Tides of Blood” − 3:46
  3. “Spent Years of Regret” − 4:15
  4. “Symptoms” − 1:48
  5. “Diagnosis Terminal” − 3:31
  6. “The Incurable Tragedy I” (September 21, 2006) − 2:49
  7. “Indignation” − 3:58
  8. “Time Immemorial” − 4:15
  9. “The Incurable Tragedy II” (November 10, 2006) − 3:37
  10. “A Black Light Ending” − 3:33
  11. “One Funeral Hymn for Three” − 4:10
  12. “The Incurable Tragedy III” (December 15, 2006) − 2:20

I really want to love these albums.  Hopefully something will change.  Until then, I’ll just keep listening to the new Metal Church album, This Present Wasteland!  Talk about great heavy metal!!


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: