Skip to content

Where Have I Heard This Before?

October 15, 2008

A few months ago I wrote a blog post telling of my love for music and how that love was started.  I got started on the Christian Metal scene quite early, all the while ignoring the mainstream metal movement for the most part.

When I came to my senses years later, I realized how much the Christian metallers (is that a word?) ripped off the original artists such as Queensryche, Ratt, Metallica and AC/DC.  Maybe ripped off is too strong of words, but the Christian metal bands definitely borrowed similar sounds and styles.  That was quite alright with me back in the day.  As a young Christian, I was taught that Judas Priest and Iron Maiden were devil worshippers and that I should not listen to them.  But bands like Saint and Barren Cross, which sounded almost exactly as the aforementioned bands, were ok to listen to.

Anyways, I thought it might be fun to spend a few blog posts comparing some of the mainstream metal acts to their Christian counterparts.

First up is Queensryche versus Sacred Warrior versus Recon.

https://dl-web.getdropbox.com/get/Music/Child%20of%20Fire.mp3?w=4a88a5ec
Queensryche – Child of Fire.  Released in 1984

I would have to say that Queensryche is one of those bands whose entire discography is kept on my iPod at all times.  They are premiere musicians and I love every one of their albums.  They were pretty popular in the mid 80’s, so of course their sound would be “borrowed” by other bands.

https://dl-web.getdropbox.com/get/Music/02%20Children%20of%20the%20Light.mp3?w=60e627c0
Sacred Warrior – Children of Light.  Released in 1988

One such band that was heavily influenced by Queensryche was the band Sacred Warrior.  They released four studio albums, all of which were very good.  Click here to read a good review of each album.

https://dl-web.getdropbox.com/get/Music/03%20Ancient%20of%20Days.mp3?w=359a0060

Recon – Ancient of Days.  Released in 1990.

Recon only has the one album to their name, but what an album!  One can very quickly see the influence of Queensryche in almost every note.  Click here for more information.

This is a new addition to the WordPress.com blogs.  Thought it would be fun to add a poll just because I can!

2 Comments
  1. October 15, 2008 5:03 pm

    I was just shocked when I read this! I thought I was the only one left that remembers Recon!

    Sacred Warrior holds a special place in my heart, because not only did they come from around my old stomping grounds (at least a couple of the members are from Wheaton, IL), but the singer also dated a high school friend of mine. And I got to meet the keyboardist when he was walking around the local mall.

    Anyways, I think that the bands differ from Queensryche in their style. Both use more keyboards in their sound and Recon almost goes into symphonic territory. However, singing-wise they borrow heavily from Geoff Tate. Ray Perra is a much better singer than Vett Roberts (Recon). Vett had almost no control over his voice and at times it was almost painful to listen to (I used to sing in barbershop quartet). The only song I think his singing was really good in was “Take Us Away”.

  2. October 15, 2008 5:06 pm

    I have a few more Christian vs. Secular band comparisons for you. Wanna trade notes?

Comments are closed.

