Skip to content

looking back and looking forward

December 31, 2008

It’s that time again.  Time to look back at how the year went and time to look forward to see what the new year might have in store.

I found my blog entry for January 1, 2008 and in it I listed some of my hopes for the new year.  Read it below:

Hopes and Goals for 2008

Today is the day I’m going to try to get some of my goals and hopes for 2008 written down.  Maybe if I write ’em down I’ll be more apt to keep ’em!

Now, these are in no particular order, but I think the ones I list first are probably more important as they are at the forefront of my mind.

1.  Read my Bible all the way through by year’s end.  I want to start in Genesis and end in Revelation.  I want to see God’s plan for us from start to finish.  This is going to take some discipline on my part.  If I can’t read it then I want to listen to it on my iPod.  By reading what God has to say for my life, I hope to get closer to Him and love Him all the more.

2.  Lose 40 pounds.  This will be the hardest goal I have.  If I drop 40lbs, I’ll be right at a nice 200lb.  A lean mean fighting machine!  Honestly, if I can’t change my addiction to fast food, then this goal will get flushed down the toilet! I wish there was just a magic fix to get un-fat, but there isn’t.  I’m most concerned with getting adult diabetes if I can’t get my weight under control.

3.  Be more available for my wife and kids.  The computer shall be my mistress no more.  If one of my kids needs attention or help for something, I want to be able to say sure! no problemo! not, wait until I’m done editing this video!

4.  That said, I do want to be more creative and use technology to further that creativity.  I hope to learn Adobe Illustrator and Artrage 2 to help bring out the hidden artist in me (and boy is that artist hidden!)  I’d also like to find a nice “Photography for losers” kind of book to help me figure out better picture taking!

5.  I want to read some classic literature this year.  Not Shakespeare, but maybe Dante’s Inferno, Moby Dick, Uncle Tom’s Cabin, Beowolf or The Iliad and Odyssey or Plato’s Republic.

6.  Get on our piano and try to learn some more music stuff.  My long term goal is to get a bass guitar, but  until then, I need to practice with what’s available.

I’m probably reaching for the moon by hoping to accomplish all of these things this year.  I can only try.

I read this list now on December 31, 2008 and am a little amazed at how much I failed!  I didn’t read the entire Bible, although I did listen to quite a few books on my iPod.  Losing 40 pounds?  Hahaha, that’s funny!  Let’s just say I didn’t gain any weight (which is a good thing I guess).  I was able to make good on goal number 3 – getting off the ‘ol computer and hanging out with my family more.  I didn’t learn Adobe Illustrator or read in classic literature, and I didn’t get on our piano at all.  One outta six is a pretty bad average.

Honestly, I’m not worried about it or even feeling guilty.  Those were good goals.  I’m even gonna carry some of them into 2009.

That said, here are those goals for 2009:

1.  Follow Jesus where ever He takes me.

2.  Get healthy and drop some pounds.

3.  Make family a priority.

4.  Definitely read more and watch less movies.

5.  Pick up the bass guitar and learn some sweet bass lines.

6.  Buy Guitar Hero Metallica the minute it comes out!

4 Comments
  1. January 2, 2009 7:33 pm

    I’m glad you took the time to write down the goals you had for 08 so you could later reflect back on them. As I read them I thought some of those goals were pretty challenging. That’s not to say you couldn’t do them, but anyone with a family that is really desirous of being a family man would have had a hard time. I like the goals you’ve identified for 09 much more. I’ve never been much of a fan of setting numerical life goals. I suppose their helpful for some, but for a guy like me I can simply push too hard to make the number and lose the real meaning in the process, or simply feel guilty for not achieving. I’m gladly you didn’t succomb to that guilt my friend.

    Like I said I really like the goals you’ve identified for this year and hope you’re able to achieve every one of them brother.

  2. January 5, 2009 3:35 pm

    Hey dude! I stumbled on your blog following a link to your “magically awesome” writeup on Zicam (I’m sitting at work with a sniffly nose right now).

    I wanted to give you props on your resolutions! Especially the priority you’re giving both this year and last year to God. I’m trying to become more spiritual/religious myself and for some reason have just had a hard time committing. Props to you for making that your #1!

    Second, your goal to drop weight is pretty awesome too! If you need any help or guidance, feel free to shoot me an email. I’m kind of a self-proclaimed fitness/nutrition nut. There are SO many fads and myths out there that most people I talk to really have very little idea at how easy dropping a few pounds can be. I don’t know your background on things, but I’d be more than happy to nudge you in the right direction if you’re interested.

    Anyway, back to work I go. Unfortunately, this may be the first and last time I drop into your blog since I stumbled on it via Google while at work, but thanks for writing and best wishes for 2009!

  3. clatron permalink
    January 6, 2009 1:51 am

    You know I support you in all these things!! I love spending time with our family!!

    BTW, I tried blogging… don’t know how this whole site works yet… and I don’t know how to add myself as your friend…

    oh well!

  4. January 7, 2009 4:07 pm

    I bet 2009 resolution #6 will be the easiest to keep. =)

Comments are closed.

