Skip to content

Appaloosa – Very Authentic, Very Slow

January 15, 2009

I’ve never been a big fan of western movies.  Sure, I loved the Young Guns movies of the 80’s but that was about it.

A few years ago a remake of 3:10 To Yuma was created and I absolutely loved it.  Great story, great character development, great everything!  I tried catching up on some western’s that I had missed, like Tombstone and The Unforgiven.  I was so glad to find another genre of movies that I liked.

Ed Harris’ Appaloosa was released to DVD this week, and I bought it right away.  I eagerly popped it in my laptop and fired it up…..

….and was still waiting for some action two hours later.  There were about 3 gunfights and that was about it.

I know Harris strived for authenticity, and that is to be commended.  Even when guns were fired, the sound wasn’t embellished and the fights were over very quickly.  I can appreciate that.  Absolutely everything looked authentic.  (Except for Renée Zellweger.  Is that a fat suit on her face?  Her face looked uncomfortably swollen.)

This was a good movie, but not what I was expecting.  Part of my problem might be that I will always have Ed Harris typecast as Robocop and will always have Viggo Mortensen typecast as Aragon from LOTR.

Check out the trailer below:

Comments are closed.

