Skip to content

Is It Time To Close The Office?

March 27, 2009

It is with a heavy heart that I write this post.   I’ve been mildly obssessed with NBC’s The Office for about 4 years now.  So don’t label me a hater as I get this off my chest.

The Office has always been filled with the funtastic antics of The Office staff.   It has always been an over-the-top goofy show; but  it has always had a 1/2 foot in reality.

Fans know a boss like Michael Scott would’ve been fired a very long time ago.  Yet we all have worked for/with a boss/co-worker that has been just as clueless and naive as the Great Scott.  We all have a Dwight Schrute at our place of employment.  We have all had stupid birthday parties and Christmas parties and have all participated in the shenanigans that The Office gang have participated in.  That is what made this show so great – it was pure satire that made us laugh at the drudgery in our own office.

I’ve really been struggling with Season 5 of The Office.  The humanness of the characters has been stripped away.  They have been made into bad caricatures of what they are supposed to represent.  The most recent episode, “Two Weeks“, has pushed me over the edge.

I can understand Michael quitting.   We all know that he will get his job back somehow.  Really, could The Office survive without Steve Carrell?  We all know Michael is a stupendous salesman, but also a stupendous moron.  We all know he has no chance in heaven, heck, or even hell in starting a paper company.

Pam knows this, yet she decides to mimic the Jerry McGuire movie and quit DunderMifflin to join Michael’s never-existing paper company?  I was just waiting for the line “You had me at hello”.  Man I was ticked!

Pam quitting to follow Michael might be the straw that broke the camel’s back for me.  Maybe I’m still in a bad mood because Battlestar Galactica just aired it’s Series finale.  Maybe I’m expecting too much from what used to be an awesome TV show.  Maybe I should just shut up.

Maybe I shouldn’t.  What could be a better way to end The Office other than Michael quitting and DunderMifflin going down the drain in the bad economic times?

One Comment
  1. matthewdavis permalink
    March 27, 2009 4:05 pm

    Funny…I thought the exact same thing as you. Pam quitting, and especially walking out of the parking lot with Michael was a bit absurd.

    Luckily, 30 Rock is right on top of the game. There were a few chuckle moments in The Office last night, but Tina Fey made the evening…

Comments are closed.

