Skip to content

Social Networking Apathy

May 18, 2009

I’m not quite sure when it happened.  Maybe it was the week I was on vacation and didn’t have Internet access for most of the time.  Maybe it’s just been building up un-noticed for the past few months.  I have Social Networking Apathy.

Which is very unlike me.  I’ve been twittering for quite a while, even using a ping.fm chat bot in Google Talk to update my statuses on Facebook, Twitter, and Myspace all at the same time.

But some how my interests have changed.  I no longer want to tell everyone what I’m doing all the time, and  I don’t want to know what everyone is doing at any given time.  I love technology and web 2.0 and all that it gives us, but I think I’m getting information overkill.

I like to follow people I know on Twitter.  Following businesses or tech gurus has been enlightening as well.  The instantaneous access to information is very nice.  The question I must ask is this:  how in the world could you follow over 1000 people?  Do you really need to know that much stuff?  I have people starting to follow me that are following over 3000 other Twitter users.  What the frak?  Why add me to your list when you don’t know me?  Sigh…

So, I’m not tweeting so much anymore.  I might tweet once in a while, but for the most part, I think I’m done.

I almost feel the same way in regards to Facebook.  Almost, but not quite.  I like the fact that I’ve reconnected with a bunch of old high school friends.  I like seeing everybody’s pictures and shared items and links.   I just don’t want to spend so much time on it as I used to.  Life is too short to be on the computer so much (says the Mac Addict!)

4 Comments
  1. Robert permalink
    May 18, 2009 12:22 pm

    I think it started when I befriended you on Facebook. 😉

    • May 18, 2009 12:53 pm

      no way man! Anyone who is a bearded Christian metalhead artist is way cool in my book!

  2. Robert permalink
    May 19, 2009 4:51 am

    LOL! I agree with you. I had never used twitter til some internet friends pushed me on to it, then they left and went to facebook, which I had never used before as well, then they have kind of abandoned me there. Twitter is starting to lose it’s luster. Two many people that are in the same car as the late nite infomercial group. If I don’t hang out with telemarketers in real life, why would I on twitter? I just heard a morning DJ say that he needs a “third” life to escape form the online “second” life. True.

  3. June 8, 2009 9:10 pm

    The perfect song went through my mind as I was reading this entry. “Media Overkill” by the Scorpions. Our German friends hit it on the head some 21 years ago!

Comments are closed.

